Pasta Recipe: Chicken and Mushrooms in Garlic White Wine Sauce – OH HEAVENS!

chicken-mushrooms-garlic-wine-sauce-ck-x

Chicken and Mushrooms in Garlic White Wine Sauce by Cooking Light (Image and Recipe)

Yet another fabulous recipe from Cooking Light magazine! This one will blow you away! I saw this in the magazine and quickly tore that page out and set it on my desk… MUST. GET. MUSHROOMS. I had everything else… We had this last night and oh, were we ever happy!

First, the recipe:

___________________________________________________________

Chicken and Mushrooms in Garlic White Wine Sauce

Prin

Put this Chicken and Mushrooms in Garlic White Wine Sauce recipe together in less than 25 minutes, probably without a trip to the store. It’s adaptable to your pantry–if you don’t have egg noodles, use another kind of pasta, and if you’re out of tarragon, try basil, oregano, or thyme.

Cooking Light NOVEMBER 2012

  • Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces uncooked medium egg noodles
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
  • 1 (8-ounce) package presliced exotic mushroom blend (such as shiitake, cremini, and oyster)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1/4 cup shaved Parmesan cheese

Preparation

Cook noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and keep warm.

Cut chicken into 1-inch pieces. Place chicken breast halves in a shallow dish. Combine 1 tablespoon flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper, stirring well with a whisk. Sprinkle flour mixture over chicken; toss to coat.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; sauté 4 minutes or until browned. Remove chicken from pan. Add remaining 1 tablespoon oil to pan. Add garlic, tarragon, and mushrooms to pan; sauté for 3 minutes or until liquid evaporates and mushrooms darken. Add white wine to pan; cook 1 minute. Stir in remaining 1 tablespoon flour; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in broth, remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, and remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper; cook 1 minute or until slightly thick, stirring frequently.

Return chicken to the pan. Cover and simmer 2 minutes. Uncover; cook 1 minute or until chicken is done. Stir in noodles; cook 1 minute or until thoroughly heated. Place about 1 1/2 cups chicken mixture on each of 4 plates; top each serving with 1 tablespoon cheese.

Note:This recipe originally ran in Cooking Light November, 2006 and was updated for the November, 2012 25th anniversary issue.

____________________________________________________________

I had taken step by step photos of this recipe, but since this recipe is so self explanatory I don’t think they were necessary. DO take time to read through this recipe a few times AND have all your ingredients ready to go (chicken dusted with flour, oil in pan, garlic minced (I used microplane), mushrooms sliced if you didn’t buy pre-sliced (I didn’t), wine measured, chicken broth measured,  1T flour measured, salt and pepper set out, tarragon chopped and ready. Oh, and water boiling for pasta… parmesan on counter so you don’t forget 😉 My recipe that was in the magazine says SUPER FAST 20-minute cooking. To that I say… No. Way. Unless you’re Cat Cora I don’t see how you’re going to pull that off… then again, I was taking photos of each and every step… and I bought cremini mushrooms that I had to clean and slice… I didn’t have chicken broth so I made a cup of chicken bouillon and only used half). So maybe it’s possible… next time I will see! Also, I didn’t have a chunk of parmesan, I only had grated which tasted great and worked fine but… the shaved parmesan pieces would have added a nice elegance. Next time, maybe even more mushroom, they were wonderful!

Catch you back here tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Pasta Recipe: Chicken and Mushrooms in Garlic White Wine Sauce – OH HEAVENS!

  1. This looks both tasty and easy to prepare; I think that I’ll try this tomorrow. I found a cookbook in the Village library in Mt Pleasant, and I think I’d like to buy it. Are you familiar with Gullah Cuisine: By Land and By Sea by Charlotte Jenkins and William Baldwin? Interesting narrative section and terrific art work. Haven’t been back to the bakery you mentioned; staying mostly in Mt. Pleasant and Charleston downtown. Being going to some great restaurants, despite a recent debilitating recurrence of diverticulitis, a real devil of a condition.

    Like

    1. Oh Kate, I think you’ll find this a tasty treat… one note… I used 6 oz of egg noodles… and it made almost 3 servings… hmmmm… YES, I am familiar with that cookbook, it’s a famous one around these parts! Glad to hear you’ve made it to some great restaurants… for now we are hunkered down, waiting to see if a furlough awaits for Fred… ahhh, not fun. So sorry to hear about the diverticulitis, I know a few people who have suffered through that, definitely not fun, ugh!! I think some pasta is just what the doctor ordered, hee hee… will send you an email if I make it “to the pleasant” (mt p) would really like to meet you before you leave!

      Like

Make my day and leave a (public) comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.